Newell Literacy Programme

 10.00 240.00

Author(s) : Anne Newell
SKU: Newell Literacy Programme
Categories: , Tags: , ,


Multi-sensory, Phonetic, Sequential and success-orientated programme to help improve child and adult literacy skills in reading, writing and spelling.

The Newell Literacy Programme evolved as a result of Irish author Anne Newell’s thirty-three years teaching experience, mainly in the area of learning support. Based on phonics, it concentrates on fusing the sounds of individual letters into syllables and words for reading, writing and spelling. It comprises of seven books, progressing in difficulty through the programme, each containing highly structured and finely graded lesson plans.

The strategies used to teach the programme are a modified version of the Orton-Gillingham Approach. Each of the fully photocopiable books comes with a step-by-step description of the teaching methods and techniques, complete with a detailed listing of individual lessons. Importantly, the programme retains the flexibility for teachers to dip in and out of specific lessons as may be appropriate for diverse learning requirements.

The programme can be used for all ages from infants to sixth class. With no graphics, childish or otherwise, the programme can also be used for secondary school pupils, adult literacy and for those learning English as a new language. A set of 30 x A5 flashcards and a tutorial video accompany the programme and are included with the full kit. Ages: 5-adult.

Flashcards and/or individual books can also be ordered separately – Price: €19.95 & €35.00 each respectively.

Book 1: The first principle of this technique is to teach the names and sounds of the letters and then concentrate on fusing the sounds of individual letters into syllables and words for reading, writing and spelling. Constant reinforcement comes through visual, auditory and kinesthetic linkages

Book 2: The names and sounds of all the letters of the alphabet are
continually revised in this book. Final and Initial blends are introduced.

Book 3: This book revises all the skills learned in Books 1 and 2 and introduces consonant
digraphs e.g. sh, ch, th, wh and also ing, ang, ong, ung, ink, ank, onk, unk,
double ff, double ll, double ss, all, ck, and tch.

Book 4:  It introduces the v-c-e rule e.g. safe, Pete, pine, home, y as in fly, frosty and Flynn, syllable division e.g. den\tist, mis\take, dis\trict, con\crete, dish\cloth, hard and soft c, hard and soft g and also illustrates how to divide two syllable words like tulip, female and poet.

Book 5: revises all the skills learned in Books 1, 2, 3 and 4.

Book 6: The first lesson in Book 6 is the vowel digraph ee as in sheep, keep, sleep, feed etc.

Book 7: The first lesson introduces the suffix ly, as in the word swiftly. When the name of a new suffix has been mastered using the flashcards, the student concentrates on fusing or adding the suffix to the base word to make words e.g.

Additional information

Age Suitability:

, , , ,


7 x A4 Photocopiable Teacher Resource Books (approx. 100 pages each), DVD and Pack of 30 A5 Initial Sounds Cards


Published By:


Publication Year:


You may also like…