Thinking Shakespeare: Using Higher Order Thinking Skills

 20.00 195.00

Author(s) : Jeff Lilly,
Categories: , Tag:


The Thinking Shakespeare series is a collection of learning activities that encourages understanding through a logical progression of thinking skills – from remembering who, what, and when, to knowing how and why. This progression is based on Bloom’s Taxonomy of Educational Objectives. This photocopiable series is designed to help make Shakespeare accessible, simply that. Studying the bard is not always an easy exercise and his plays still excite controversy and disagreement in the most distinguished academic circles.

Very often exercises and activities used in textbooks are daunting for students and, while Shakespeare is a fundamental part of English language curricula throughout the world, his plays are not always easy to read and understand. The ‘Thinking Shakespeare’ series is designed to ease that understanding. Using Bloom’s Taxonomy of Educational Objectives, students are presented with a sequence of exercises and activities which begin with events and characters and progressively become more demanding. Teachers may pull pages and ideas from the series to complement their own programmes. The plays covered in this series are:

  • Hamlet
  • Julius Caesar
  • King Lear
  • Macbeth
  • Measure for Measure
  • Merchant of Venice
  • Midsummer Night’s Dream
  • Much Ado About Nothing
  • Othello
  • Richard III
  • Romeo & Juliet
  • The Taming of the Shrew
  • The Tempest

Additional information

Age Suitability:

, ,


Choose an Option

Thinking Shakespeare: Romeo & Juliet, Thinking Shakespeare: Macbeth, Thinking Shakespeare: The Merchant of Venice, Thinking Shakespeare: Hamlet, Thinking Shakespeare: King Lear, Thinking Shakespeare: Othello, Thinking Shakespeare: Richard III, Thinking Shakespeare: The Taming of the Shrew, Thinking Shakespeare: A Midsummer Night\\'s Dream, Thinking Shakespeare: Julius Caesar, Thinking Shakespeare: Much Ado About Nothing, Thinking Shakespeare: Measure for Measure, Thinking Shakespeare: The Tempest, Thinking Shakespeare: Complete Set (13 Books)