Thinking Literature: Using Higher Order Thinking Skills


Author(s) : Jeff Lilly
SKU: Thinking Literature: Using Higher Order Thinking Skills


Following the successful Thinking Shakespeare – Using Higher Order Thinking Skills series, the author Jeff Lilly brings the Bloom’s Taxonomy approach to great works of literaturet in this series.

John Steinbeck’s works, although acknowledged to be brilliant, were often surrounded by controversy and some were even banned by schools overseas who believed his work to be obscene and misrepresentational. However, Steinbeck’s works are featured regularly in international curricula.

The Thinking Literature series is designed as a resource to help students approach novels in a structured and logical manner. Using Bloom’s Taxonomy of Educational Objectives, students are presented with a sequence of exercises and activities which begin with events and characters and progressively become more demanding. Teachers may pull pages and ideas from the series to complement their own programmes. The activities may be used for individual, home, group or whole-of-class work. Because the sections are broadly similar throughout the series, similar lines of enquiry may be embarked upon across several novels by an author, or even used to make comparisons with other writers. Broadly, students will begin by remembering details and end by developing and expressing their own ideas. The structure of the series also means that there is plenty of work for younger readers, as well as more advanced students. Never far away is the intention to foster a sense of enjoyment in Steinbeck’s work and appreciation of his genius.

The four books in this Series are are all based on the works of John Steinbeck and are:

  • Of Mice and Men
  • Catcher in the Rye
  • The Grapes of Wrath
  • The Pearl

Additional information

Age Suitability:



Published By:

Publication Year:


You may also like…

Powerful Thinking, Powerful Writing


Deeper thinking leading to higher-quality writing.
Select a Book Option below to LOOK INSIDE:

Thinking Shakespeare: Using Higher Order Thinking Skills


The Thinking Shakespeare – Using Higher Order Thinking Skills series is a collection of learning activities that encourages understanding through a logical progression of thinking skills – from remembering who, what, and when, to knowing how and why. This progression is based on Bloom’s Taxonomy of Educational Objectives.

Writing Frameworks


– Helping Students to Get to Grips with Writing
The Writing Frameworks series has been designed to assist teachers in their teaching of writing. In two photocopiable books, Writing Frameworks provides easy-to-use prewriting strategies, guides and model writing exemplars across seven writing genres.
Choose a single title from the Dropdown Menu to Look Inside.